Latest News

Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
In case you missed it, here's the recording of Rev. Leah Ongiri's inspiring Summer Shabbat message. Enjoy!

Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
Rev. Leah Ongiri will be our Guest Speaker this Friday (6 pm EDT / 5 pm CDT / 3 pm PDT) for "Call the Sabbath a Delight".
To receive the Zoom link, click below:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0kdOyrrj8qHdcd3IANz1VvJ2MPs70JnjYG

The tradition of keeping a Sabbath (sometimes referred to as a “time without time”) is so ancient that one might wonder whether it has any relevance at all in modern life. Is there any point in receding from the world one day every week, and who has time for that much rest anyway? What’s so appealing about a time set aside to not do anything? This service is for anyone curious about Jewish ritual practices, or for those longing to deepen or renew their Sabbath engagement.

Rev. Leah Ongiri is a lifelong Jewish UU and has been a child, lay leader, staff member, or minister at UU congregations in Oregon, Washington, California, New Jersey, Florida, Wisconsin, and Colorado. Leah is a graduate of Starr King School for the Ministry, former UUJA President, and coeditor (with Rev. Marti Keller) of the Skinner House book Jewish Voices in Unitarian Universalism. She lives with her family (spouse, four kids, tuxedo cat, and bearded dragon) in her Portland, Oregon hometown.
Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
Don't miss our UUJA Summer Shabbat this Friday at 6 pm! Click this link to register:
Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
A reminder that there are several Haggadot on our website, www.uuja.org, for you to download for Passover.

And, we WILL be having a presence at General Assembly in Portland, this year! Visit our booth #113 in-person or virtually, in the Exhibit Hall. And, join us in-person for Shabbat candle-lighting, kiddush, and motzi on that Friday night, followed by social time with UUJA Board President Arthur Thexton. Details to follow, and will be in the GA App.
Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
Unitarian Universalists for Jewish Awareness
Our next Mussar Study Group will be Sunday, April 10th at 4 pm EDT / 3 pm CDT / 1 pm PDT.
Here’s the Registration link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcod-yorz0jH9S42OvHzZEuhs5rIFBKTTSG

April’s discussion will be about the 3rd Soul Trait, Enthusiasm.

Join us!